Technical and Standards

The ground drilling industry is very diverse in its range of applications; methods employed; plant & equipment used, and sites on which it works. The technical input required from manufacturers; suppliers, and contractors is considerable. The field drilling personnel have to be highly skilled to understand and react to the technical difficulties down-hole – the so called “art of drilling”.

This section of the website will develop over time but can never totally include the vast technical detail of drilling or the Standards to which it performs. Guidance must be sought from industry experts on any particular project; application, or method. The BDA welcomes initial enquiries as to where expert advice may be obtainable.